Please help with camera purchase guide

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by xanthos, Mar 11, 2008.

1. xanthos

xanthos TPF Noob!

Hello I am new to the whole photography thing. I currently have a Sony DSC-V1 camera. I have noticed with my 7 year old starting to do activities that the camera can not take a moving picture without blurring the picture. I may have the camera setup totally wrong and I have read the book but stilll no clue to what ISO and noise means and such. Basically I am looking for opinions on what to buy that is around $500 or so that I can take decent pictures without the pictures being blurry. There is a huge delay on my current camera so when I want to take a action picture, its too late by the time the camera snaps. I dont need some fancy professional camera just something nice that will do the job I need done. Thanks in advance.

2. Socrates

Socrates TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The biggest bang for the buck is the Nikon D40. From what you've written, you'll need only one lens, the one included with the kit:
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/471716-REG/Nikon_25420_D40_SLR_Digital_Camera.html

By the way, "ISO" is sensitivity to light. Higher numbers mean more sensitivity (i.e., less light required for a good picture). However, there ain't no free lunch --- higher sensitivity results in more electrical noise. Are you old enough to remember "snow" on a television?

3. Yahoozy

Yahoozy TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    it sounds to me like your shutter speed is too slow
    does your camera have a mode wheel or a system similar that says TV on it?

4. CanadianMe

CanadianMe TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit