Please help with choosing a camera?

FataOrgana

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello, I'm new here as well as to the world of photography. I've always had a passion for taking a good picture, and I truly enjoy trying to capture the moment. I feel I have a pretty good eye for it. I've never used anything outside of fairly high end point and shoots, or my smart phones. Though I have gotten some great photos this way, I know much better quality can be found in pictures taken with a DSLR camera. I'm looking into purchasing one now, and hoping I could get some advice here. I'm sure there are hundreds of these type of threads so I'm sorry, I couldn't find a search feature and I am too impatient to click through lots of pages. :x

I want something nice and high quality, but I am a beginner. I'm a quick learner though. :) I would mostly be taking portraits, family and kid pictures and such, with maybe a bit of nature/landscapes mixed in. I was looking at Canons and Nikons, many with great reviews, but can't tell which would be best for me and why.

Along with that, what are the absolute necessary lenses I'd need to buy as well? Extra equipment? Accessories? Computer programs for editing? Any other advice?

Thank you so much!!

Decide how much money you wish to spend. Then, decide how you wish to actually carry the camera: pocket, jacket pocket,purse,camera bag, or shoulder carry. The way a camera can be carried determines its size and weight. a BIG shoulder-carry camera like a Canon 1Dx or Nikon D4 is the total opposite of a shirt-pocketable compact camera. After deciding on the budget, and how large/heavy a camera, start looking in the appropriate price range.