Please recommend a digital camera for freelance work - portraits and nature

patchesprescott

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
hey all

cool forum! :)

i am going to be doing some traveling in south america and intend on writing some freelance feature stories, but need a quality digital camera for the accompanying photos, i'm sure a lot of nature-type pics and portraits, etc

i haven't really been around cameras too much since my photo journalism coursework (a while back - ), so i just would like something that takes great all around pics (good enought to be published), without too much meddling and technical know-how - i mean i'm not afraid of trial and error or reading a manual, but i am not a photographer by trade and i am not too proud to minimize my weakness

i'd rather not need a lot of cumbersome equipment, as i am trying to minimize my travel load and the possibility of theft, although i don't mind a couple of lenses and a bag if it would make the difference between good and great shots (any lens recommendations would be great as well)

how many megapixels would you all recommend for this kind of fidelity/resolution?

would a P&S camera suffice?

from reading some of the other threads, i was looking into the Canon G7, Powershot S70 and Leica D-Lux 3...are these cameras capable of the quality i'm looking for?

any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated...Thanks!
:sexywink:

My 2 cents would be to go with a dSLR camera. For 500 bucks you can pick up a canon rebel xt. Don't pay too much attention to the MP of the camera unless you are wanting to print professional posters and such. a 6 - 8 mp range will be just great for you. The nice thing with having an slr is that you are not limited to one lens. If you are putting the money into a camera it seems worth it to buy a nice Digital SLR Canon camera such as the xt or even the xti has become very affordable. Just my thoughts.