Please review images

Irukandji24

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone! I am new to this forum and new to photography as well. But I would love for you guys to critique my work. I've only started about three months ago. Bought an entry nikon DSLR and a 50mm f1.8g prime lens.

Please tell me what I can do better and/or any feedback . So far, I am leaning towards portrait photography. Here are some sample of my shots:
Angie.JPG
IMG_0674.JPG
IMG_0647.JPG
IMG_0747.JPG

Please keep in mind that I am a beginner and still learning all the lingo and etc. so please keep it as simple as possible :)

So far my only teacher are YouTube videos lol

Thanks!

hello and welcome to the forum.

That 50mm f/1.8 is a really good lens to start and learn on. As for critique, here we go.

1) Not fond of the square crop on it. On the composition, be careful not to cut off fingers as you have done. This image seems to be a little soft (Not tack sharp) but the exposure looks pretty good.

2) Again, the composition isn't the best and the background has some distractions. Consider cropping this tightly in portrait mode. She has a great smile.

3) Best of the set and is a really good photo. Nicely done.

4) She is a sweet subject but I would just consider this a snapshot.

General suggestions: Spend some time studying composition and rule of thirds. Practice shooting in portrait orientation with your camera. In addition to studying composition, watch videos on lighting. It doesn't matter if is flash, constant or natural lighting. Learning how to use whatever light you have will make a big difference in your photographs.

hello and welcome to the forum.

That 50mm f/1.8 is a really good lens to start and learn on. As for critique, here we go.

1) Not fond of the square crop on it. On the composition, be careful not to cut off fingers as you have done. This image seems to be a little soft (Not tack sharp) but the exposure looks pretty good.