PNY memory card problem

Discussion in 'Photographic Discussions' started by thewand, Aug 8, 2008.

  1. thewand
    Offline

    thewand New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    something happened to my PNY memory card. it is a 2GB Optima Pro (133x). It will not let me open the folders on my PC like it usually does. here's what happens: :grumpy:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    TIA

    thewand

    any clue to what happened or if my card is now a worthless heap of plastic and metal?
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2008
  2. thewand
    Offline

    thewand New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i need to know really bad. i am supposed to do photography for my grandparents' 50th anniversary tonight.
  3. tirediron
    Offline

    tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    25,320
    Likes Received:
    6,154
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southern Vancouver Island, BC
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +6,163 / 0
    Put it in the camera, format it and try again. If that doesn't work, bin it, buy another card.
  4. thewand
    Offline

    thewand New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    how do i format it in the camera?

    EDIT: nevermind, found it
  5. thewand
    Offline

    thewand New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ... still doesn't work, gonna have to get a new one on the way then
  6. Garbz
    Offline

    Garbz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,712
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +202 / 0
    Wait after a format it's still doing it? Format it from windows by right clicking and clicking format. It looks like the filesystem is screwed since you have two identically named folders. This can be caused by older memory cards just suffering corruption when you write to them.

    I second the bin it option.
  7. usayit
    Offline

    usayit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    9,497
    Likes Received:
    341
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    North New Jersey, United States of America
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +341 / 0
    yeh me.. too... get a new one...

    In my mind, a failed card has a higher chance of failing sooner rather than later.
  8. thewand
    Offline

    thewand New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well... i found out it was just the reader... tried it in a friends reader and worked fine. thanks for the help anyways

    thewand

Share This Page