Point me to some Fast prime lenses.

RyanLilly

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok, I have no money now, but I am planning on purchasing a used canon 20D or maybe a 30D and at a minimum a 50mm 1.8, and maybe a fairly typical walk around lens.

My other consideration is that, I am a theatre student and am working to build my design portfolio, and almost any zoom lens is too slow to accurately capture my lighting designs during theatrical and dance performance(within my price range at least). The 50mm f1.8 with a higher ISO will probably do the trick in some cases like small venues, but I think that 50mm will end up being too short in many cases. I cant really walk around on stage during a show.:lol:

I have looked around online for some longer prime lenses, but I cant come up with much. I'm not sure exactly what length(s) I am looking for yet. But Id like to look at what options I have.

If anyone can point me to some sites I would appreciate it. I'm just trying to price everything now, so I know how much pocket change I need to collect.

Well, if you do have some extra money, you can look at the Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L. Even though it is a zoom, it is a fast lens. And during performances, you can probably take great shots with it. Good luck on your choice!

The 135 is not the fastest telephoto. The 85mm f/1.2 is. Canon also makes a 200 f/1.8. I don't think you'll want to be dropping that much money though. I use the 85 f/1.8 however, and it is fantastic. It has the build quality of the 50mm f/1.4. On an APS-C digital, the focal length will be approximately 135mm.

I second the recommendation for the 70-200 f/2.8 as well, and consider getting the IS version if you can.

The 135 is not the fastest telephoto. The 85mm f/1.2 is. Canon also makes a 200 f/1.8. I don't think you'll want to be dropping that much money though.

http://www.canon.com/camera-museum/camera/lens/ef/telephoto.html
85mm is not listed.

and