Polaroid SX-70 is not ejecting the dark slide

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone! I am very new to this forum and absolutely new to the world of Polaroid. I just bought an SX-70 off eBay purely on a whim. I have no experience of using SLRs but I loved the vintage effect of an SX-70 and bought an untested one on eBay. I also bought the Impossible Project PX100 First Flush film. I loaded the film in the camera as per my understanding from YouTube videos. However, the camera did not eject / spit out the black card on closing the film compartment as it was supposed to.

There was no sound when I put the film in and closed the film compartment. Nothing is happening and no sound is made when I press the red button. But maybe that's just because the black card / dark slide is still inside so the motor isn't doing it's thing... I don't know. I can see pretty clearly through the lens and the bellows seem to be in good shape.

What could be the problem? Why did it not spit out the black card? Please help me!!! I am really dying to use my SX-70 but don't know how to make it work.

Is the camera dead? If there are suggestions for checking some technical parts, I'll really appreciate if you can please give me full instructions and exact guidelines for opening / cleaning / testing the components as I have no clue what lies in the camera. I know there's something called the rollers that I should check but I have no clue how to do that.

Do you think my film is useless now? Will it be a waste of a film if I have to take it out because it'll be exposed to light or is it fine if the black slide hasn't come out yet?

Please help! Thank you so much in advance!!

When you insert a film pack and close the front of the camera you should
immediately hear the camera's motor working as it spits out the dark card.

The camera likely needs repair and they are not user serviceable. And,