Polarr v Lightroom

gayle23

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm newish to photography but really love it and desperatly want to improve. I am eager to learn how to improve my photos using post processing techniques. I keep hearing about Lightroom and photoshop but my partner suggested Polarr as it's free. Is it as good as Lightroom? I'm not super techy so don't want to learn to use something that in the end I will end up changing from and moving to Lightroom and relearning my way around that. I can find lots of tutorials for lightroom also but not so many for Polarr, I am particularly interested in portraits and want to create beautiful black and white photography also. I know you can get plug ins for black and white photography but I don't know if there are any that will be compatible with Polarr? I am really new to post processing.
Any advice I would be very grateful. Thank you

Is it as good as Lightroom? Somehow I doubt it... Lightroom has many years and many millions of dollars in R&D behind it. It's the industry standard in raw conversion/cataloguing software. There a couple of applications which are close, but they're all similarly priced. IMO, the $10.00 'Photographer's Bundle' from Adobe for Lightroom & Photoshop is WELL worth the cost, and while there will doubtless be far more than you need at the moment, you can grow in to it. Almost every plug-in out there is made for LR/PS; many are made for other software suites as well, but there are virtually none that don't work with LR/PS.

I use polarr online to quickly edit photos. but I limit the usage to editing others photos here during quick C&Cs. (since I'm at work and have no access to my normal tool).

It could never replace LR.

Adobe's $9.99 a month Photography package includes both Photoshop CC 2017 and Lightroom CC 2015 (and Lightroom update when it's available).