Portable Lighting Solution Modifiers

chuasam

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Lately, I have been moving towards a more portable lighting solution. I had been using Profoto and then later Elinchrom monolights with CStands and the works.

I'm looking into a more portable system. What sort of light modifiers do you folks have good results with? In the old days, I had to use lots of light but now with faster lenses and better sensors, I have found that maybe I can switch over to a speedlight based system.

There are so many brands out there and I am not familiar with them as to the colour balance of the modifiers (being inconsistent) and the build quality.

I have a total of 3 SB600, 2 SB800 and a Meike SB900.
I'm a portrait photographer and and seeing what I can do without bringing the heavy kit.

I don't drag my equipment around a lot (only part-part timer). But I have had good luck with mid-priced to lower priced equipment (stands, softboxes, reflectors, umbrellas). I have all my speedlights from over the years so have a large collection. Recently I have dabbled with tripple speedlight brackets to get some more light out of a single light modifier. I have also decided to get some larger reflectors. As I am trying to get more out of the reflectors than using more lights.

I have not really noticed any color cast differences between softboxes or my current reflectors. I might not pay as close of attention to that as others might though. Not a perfectionist photographer.

As for build quality, first thing I look at is stitching. I have seen some top end gear with uneven stitching on its materials. And I have had some cheap gear nearly fail out of the box. Unfortunately I have not lived anywhere near a store I can check out gear for over 10 years now. So, I am stuck with order it, look at it, keep, or send it back.