Portrait Lens Advice

L. Wood

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to the "forum" concept, but after reading thread after thread I am absolutely loving it! Anyway, I would greatly appreciate advice concerning my next lens purchase. I have been using a Nikon D200 with a 18-200 VR, which is a great travel lens but very poor for portraits. I have been working on fine-tuning my photography for about 3 years and am still trying to figure out my specialty. Thus, I have waited to purchase more lenses. Portraiture is quickly becoming one of my favorites, and now I would like to purchase a lens of great quality. I have researched for at least 3 months now and have come up with a few possibilities: 85 mm 1.4 and 70-200mm 2.8.
Please let me know what you think of these two options and why one would be better than the other. Also, if you think another lens, not mentioned, would be better please let me know as well. I am willing to spend as much as $1600.
Thankyou for your help!

You're willing to spend a lot of money, indeed!
Of those two, I'd prefer the 85mm. First, just because I like fixed focal distances. And that is a very nice one for portraits. Second, because it is faster, and you want fast lenses for portraits (so that you can have minimun DOF or shot with only available light more easily). I don't really think you could benefit on the zoom for portraits.

Also, you can always go for MF older lenses, cheaper and very nice. That way you would save a lot of that money for future adquisitions. With a D200 you will have no problem of compatibility. For example, now comes to my mind a very nice E-series 100mm that would cost you nothing out of $1600.

Anyway, and to sum up, I'd definitely go for a fixed focal distance, fast lens

If the best protraiture you can find is what you seek, then fast prime. If you want a tad bit more versatility, a fast telephoto (2.8) is great, even if you cover that zoom range in the 18-200.