Portrait Newbie :) C/C!

Discussion in 'The Professional Gallery' started by hipsanndhearts, Jun 4, 2007.

1. hipsanndhearts

hipsanndhearts TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm just starting out in the *serious* photography world and I really want to get into portrait/wedding photography.
    This site seems absolutely amazing for tips/advice/constructive cristism/ect.
    I know I need alot of work in the portrait department, but not knowing ANY fellow photographers, I'm not sure WHAT I need to work on. I have yet to master photoshop, or really, any photo editing program, therefore I'm very aware almost all my photos need editing help.
    This is where you come in :)
    Please feel free to comment/bash my work. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Also,
    I use a Nikon D50. What lenses are best for portrait/weddings?

2. LeeLeeMelis

LeeLeeMelis TPF Noob!

Maine-but currently stationed in Okinawa, Japan
    Photos OK to edit
    I think these look really good. You clearly grabbed the personality of each child. Be careful of your cropping, ie the kissing photo, I think it would be more effective to have a bit more of the subject on the right. The second shot is my favorite, slightly over exposed in my opinion but I like the look. Good work, Visit this site often, it has helped me LOTS. Good luck!!

3. skieur

skieur TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    As Lee Lee indicated, you really captured the personality of the kids very well. Some of the shots are too tight. You should be zooming out or backing off a bit to avoid cutting off heads etc. The eyes are important and need to be bright and sharp which are beautiful in most of the shots except the shot of the boy near the end. Getting the skin colour perfect is also a challenge. That of the girl toward the end seems a little too pink. Even if it is sunburn, it can be de-emphasized a little in postprocessing.