Possible to use an SB-600 as a slave?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by RONDAL, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. RONDAL

    RONDAL TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Great White North
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Trying to figure out if the nikon sb600 can be fired as a slave. Read the manual but didn't see it. If its in there can someone point me in the direction, otherwise what are the settings that need to be changed?
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2009
  2. SrBiscuit

    SrBiscuit TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    NH
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
  3. NateS

    NateS TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,753
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Missouri
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Depends on your camera. If you camera has CLS abilities then yes. You go into the camera menu (press and hold zoom and the - symbol). Toggle through the menu until you find the squiggly line with an arrow and enable that.

    Then set your camera's menu to use the onboard flash as a commander. My preference is to set it where the onboard flash adds nothing to the scene...only to fire the SB-600.

    Now turn the flash on and leave it off camera....pop up your on board flash, and fire a shot.....the SB-600 will fire as a slave.

    Oh, and cameras that I know of that have CLS are

    D70s (possibly D70 as well???)
    D80
    D90
    D200
    D300
    D700
    D3
    D3x

    not sure about the D50 but I don't think it does....don't quote me on that though.
     
  4. harrison

    harrison TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    From your profile I take it you have a D40. The SB-600 will not slave off of that body. You can buy remote triggers, but nothing wireless from the factory.
     
  5. RONDAL

    RONDAL TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Great White North
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    to clarify,
    i have a d90 now (should update profile).
    I already have two SB600's i fire via CLS, but with just commander mode you can only control 2 flashes (or 2 flash groups A & B).

    I want a third independant that is triggered when it sees the other two go off, set basically on manual so i can just control the light output of it from the flash body (not the camera body).

    thanks
     
  6. RONDAL

    RONDAL TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Great White North
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    i will clarify even further to state i dont care about i-TTL or any of that, i want to control it in manual anyway
     
  7. KmH

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    38,233
    Likes Received:
    5,007
    Location:
    Iowa
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Use an optical trigger. One that can be adjusted to disregard TTL pre-flashes.

    Beyond that you're into the realm of radio triggers.
     
  8. RONDAL

    RONDAL TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Great White North
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    any specific optical trigger that you suggest?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

sb600 slave 580ex ii