Post-Production Lightroom?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by TheBoombaGnome, Apr 19, 2010.

1. TheBoombaGnome

TheBoombaGnome TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I recently came across a copy of Adobe Lightroom 2 through my dad's job (he's in IT so he gets a bunch of random programs). I started playing around with it, but it seems that there are a lot of things on there that I could do in Photoshop (I have CS4) which I am very quick with. Anyone use Lightroom at all? I'm wondering if it's worth trying to learn how to use it for PP or if I'd be better off just sticking with Photoshop...

Thanks guys!

Boomba

2. Jon0807

Jon0807 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I could be wrong but I believe LR2 just takes specific features from PS, mainly for use with photographs, and bunches them all in one sleek program. Usually for those who don't want the entire PS package and just want something to process photos with. So if you have CS4 and know how to use it then I would say you don't really need LR since CS4 can do everything LR can do and more.

3. Josh220

Josh220 No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Lightroom is where many people do the most of their editing. Then they send the pictures that need fine tuning into CS4. LR is a great RAW processor.

4. fokker

fokker No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    Lightroom isn't meant to replace photoshop, but its great to have both. Lightroom is awesome for importing RAW files, doing basic raw adjustements (that are completley reversible) and managing your files. If you take the time to learn it and set it up properly then it's invaluable for cataloging your photos so they are organised and easy to find.

5. FattyMcJ

FattyMcJ TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Couldn't have said it better myself.

6. Nameless

Nameless TPF Noob!