Post Shooting...

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by gravity0, Apr 15, 2009.

1. gravity0

gravity0 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'm a noob and have shot in RAW ever since I bought the 40D. I can see my pictures getting better in the camera, but post shooting, upon placing the pictures in the computer they're not as good. I just found out that RAW photos look dull without some PS help. What would you recomend me do or read to get my pictures looking better. I'm a little familiar with PS but still new at it. I took a class that taught a little about Curves, layers, sharpness but I'm still new to it all. What are the normal procedures of getting "popping" pictures.

Thanks,

Grav

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    It sounds like you need to develop you 'workflow'.

Just about everyone has their own, unique workflow....so you just have to find what works for you.

I got a bunch of great info on The Luminous Landscape
    you might want to check out this...

In-depth Workflow Example

3. gravity0

gravity0 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    As always thanks Big Mike. You're right I do but the funny thing is I don't know what I'm doing right now. PS is so huge that I believe it's going to take me years to get right. Not only that but say I start my own work flow, then realize a certain thing PS does later on that could have worked on a previous picture. I guess that's the beauty of a hobby. :lol:

4. Big Mike

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Plenty of people 'evolve' their workflow...then go back to photos they took years before and re-process them with different results.

It's a constant learning process and the best way to learn is to practice. There are also tons and tons of tutorials on the web...just search them out.

Also, consider getting Lightroom. It integrates with Photoshop but it revolutionizes the workflow process.

5. gravity0