Corry

Flirtacious and Bodacious
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
corryttc.blogspot.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I was on another forum (not a photo forum) and there was a discussion about Anne Frank's birthday, which led to a discussion about the holocaust.

Someone posted a picture from during the holocaust that stopped me dead in my tracks, and affected me in a very strong way. I cannot believe the power in this photo.

This is the picture (don't click if you are overly sensitive about such things)

holocaust picture (photographer unknown to me, let me know if you know who took it)

It got me thinking about some things. I once said that, as a photographer, I would love to have the chance to take a picture that evoked a great deal of emotion. However...I don't think I could have handled being the photographer that took this picture. I think I'd have been a tormented soul for the rest of my life.

What are your thoughts on powerful pictures such as this? What makes a picture so powerful? Are there any pictures that are now burned into your memory, like this one is for me? If you post examples, remember to post them as links and not as pictures.

If you ever get the chance to go to Amsterdam, make sure you visit the Anne Frank House there, but you need to warp yourself and allow for at least an hour on your own after you have been in there.
It is unbelievable and unbelievably horrible that there were people (my own! :shock: ) that wasted the lives of so many hopeful, intelligent, loving, young, middle-aged, old, male, female, other people. Who on earth did they think they were!?

Well, yes, my people, "compulsive record-keepers" who they were, Lew is quite right here, produced metres and metres of footage of terrible film material and also photos of this kind. They should warn us never to let anything of this kind happen again.