Powershot A640 - pictures are too dark?

Meltem

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I really need some help from canon power shot experts (or just a general camera pro).

I bought my A640 7+ years ago. Used it very gently. Then I switched to an SLR camera for special events, and started using my smartphone for casual photos. Haven't used my canon camera for 6 years. So the a640 camera was used for a max of two years with no body damage or any other user damage. We don't go out much, thus a perfect used condition camera :)

I'm moving abroad so I was selling every bit of extra items in my house, including A640. I tested the camera, took a few pics with different settings. Everything looked great. Listed it on amazon. Someone bought it.

Well, he is now asking for a full refund plus shipping because he claims its defective. He says "the pictures turn out dark on low light setting even flash doesn't help it"

I didnt have this problem before I listed it. I'm not an expert, so I need your opinion on this.

1. He confirms the flash works. He doesn't say the picture is completely black, he just says too dark. I'm thinking it could be his expectations are too high. Low light photos are always tricky, and maybe he expects too much from a 7+ years old camera. Am I too unreasonable to think this?

2. I'm considering asking him to send me a sample photo, but of course he can cheat. Is there a way to take a picture with the camera settings visible on the picture? Is there any other way I can make sure the sample photo is genuinely taken the way he describes? This might be a really dumb question but I'm just curious if there is anything I'm not aware of. I just want some proof that the camera is indeed defective :(

3. Is there a known defect that could cause dark photos regardless of camera settings? What kind of a defect would that be? Can it happen during shipping?