Practice Portrait

schumionbike

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone, this is like the third time I shoot try to shoot portrait. This one is for my mom. I'm still very new to portrait photography, so any tips would be great. Thanks.
Pictures2060edited.jpg

File date: 2007:05:28 20:48:29
Camera make: EASTMAN KODAK COMPANY
Camera model: KODAK EASYSHARE Z710 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMER
Date/Time: 2007:05:23 14:50:47
Resolution: 480 x 640
Flash used: Yes (manual)
Focal length: 6.3mm (35mm equivalent: 38mm)
Exposure time: 0.0025 s (1/400)
Aperture: f/2.8
ISO equiv.: 64
Whitebalance: Auto
Metering Mode: matrix
Exposure: Manual
Exposure Mode: Auto bracketing

I guess three things bother me about this shot...

1. The background seems VERY busy to me. Can you find another spot to shoot that has fewer distractions?

2. The composition also seems a little off to me. I tend to favor tight crops, but I think you should either move in close for a head & shoulders type shot or move back to get a full body shot. Where her legs are cut off (just above the knees?) seems awkward to me.

3. The light on her face is very harsh. Shooting early in the morning or later in the afternoon will give you softer, more even lighting.

Hope this helps some!

~jen

Your shot is over-exposed and too bright. Shooting under a tree with both the camera and subject in the shade would provide better more even colour or shooting on a fairly bright but cloudy day with minimal shadows.

skieur

It;s a bit overexposed. Also it is sometimes more flattering when you shoot at their eye level rather than looking up at a person. Maybe that would be better. If that particular spot is special maybe she could sit down in front of the purple bush and you could do more of a head and shoulders portrait and still get her garden in there. :)