Presenting Photographs to Clients

Paul G

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there,

Could anyone advise on possible ways of presenting a portfolio of wedding photographs to potential clients? I am new to wedding photography and appreciate the importance of professionally presenting photographs. Also could you inform me of suppliers of albums to present in?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

Paul
:thumbup:

Get a good quality leather portfolio book. Your local stationers should have some. Display a variety of printing techniques - some people like old-fashioned style sepia in an oval shape, whereas others want razor-sharp colour glossies. Print the pictures bigger than they are used to seeing: 8x12 or whatever as this instantly gives the professional look.

Ensure that you have acetate or whatever over the prints as they will get their grubby paws on them. Don't buy a book with white inserts for the same reason.

In summary, a nice leather album at your preferred large print size, with black or brown pages and a variety of prints with acetate covering them. It's a good idea to have about three books, detailing each of the types of shots - the group, the couple, the rings, the book signing, the church doorway, a cute bridesmaid...

Don't forget diversity either - you won't make a wedding sale if there isn't someone from the potential customer's ethnic group in the portfolio.

Good luck!

Rob

I'd also consider presenting them the 'Products' that you are trying to sell. Say you are planning to include albums in your package, (after figuring out your preferred type of album(s) - Flushmount, Coffee table etc) you can have your portfolio in them. Let them actually see/touch a sample of what they are paying for.

The same goes with DVD Slideshow, if you are planning to include one. It is a very popular marketing tool.

Some of the prominent/popular album companies:
GraphiStudio
Leather Craftsmen
Queensberry
La-Vie
AsukaBook

When presenting, I show them a lot of things: