Press passes? or whatever??

igloopants

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
How does one obtain the ability to attend events without paying or going 'through the front door' or whatever to cover an event (sports/music etc.)?

Do you need to be working for a company? or have your own ABN? or do you just call the even organiser and ask?

How does one obtain the ability to attend events without paying or going 'through the front door' or whatever to cover an event (sports/music etc.)?

Do you need to be working for a company? or have your own ABN? or do you just call the even organiser and ask?

I get media credentials to lots of motorsports related events. You typically have to be "working media", meaning you have to be on assignment to cover the event for a specific media outlet. For example, I'm a writer/photographer for places like MX Affiliate Magazine, About.com and some ATV magazines, and I covered a couple of Freestyle Motocross events at the Pamona Fairplex (California) this month for the MX magazine. (Some shots on my flickr page)

Some smaller events you can often talk your way into getting credentials, but it usually doesn't work if you just show up at the event with a nice camera and ask to get in. You have to call the organizer and arrange it.

Best seats in the house! Usually get access to most everything, including track access, interviews at the podiums, food and drink, clean bathrooms etc. It's very cool.

Once in a while I try to get credentials for the wife so she can go with me. They make for great dates when we can pawn the groms off on Teacher. :lmao:

Last edited:
So if I was to be covering the event for a writeup on a website that would be ok?

How do you obtain 'media credentials'?

In the end, is it just about phoning around to try and get a hold of someone who can send you a 'press pass' or something?

So if I was to be covering the event for a writeup on a website that would be ok?