Pricing advice kindly appreciated!

Ruth Ellen Brown

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a product an lifestyle photographer based in the UK, I have 7 years training in fine art with photography from one of the most renowned art institutions in the UK, since graduating with a masters degree, I worked professionally as a commercial photographer for 4 years, in a high-end photography studio shooting for some renowned brands and have been published in several magazines. I also work as an ambassador for The Prince's Trust of England, giving talks on photography, e-commerce, business and creativity UK-wide.

Recently I have gone freelance and I'm wondering what I should be charging for my services (I suspect I should be charging more than my hourly rate at the studio I was employed at). My employed salary was very low and now I am concerned about under-selling myself as a freelance photographer.

Would anyone be kind enough to take a look at my website and guess a ball-park figure as to what kind of might be a reasonable charge for this kind of quality, level and experience of work? I do product, styled product and lifestyle photography.

Thanks so much in advance, my website is www.ruthellenbrown.co.uk

Last edited:
In any big city in the US, I think you would be getting many,many multiples of your current daily rate.
Your site is elegant, your work is impressive and commercial (in a good way).

Ruth Ellen - I've taken the liberty of moving your thread into 'General Shop Talk', where it will hopefully see a little more traffic. Lew's comments are spot on. You should be thinking of increasing that 70 pounds by 10-20% and using that as an HOURLY rate*! You have very nice work, great presentation, and an all-around solid, professional and skilled appearance.