pricing questions

bluewaterjon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.bluewaterjon.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi folks, here is my situation. I am a freelance writer and shooter. I go to high end fishing resorts and get images for my articles. Often I have to pay my transportation to get there, and the lodge puts me up and treats me like a client the moment I arrive.The resort puts me up but transportation to these places is often about 800, and then I may make that back and more over the long run with articles and images sales. The places like having me there as I get them PR, and often, part of the deal is that I provide the resort with images of their premises as well. During the day they place me on boats with their clients and I shoot the action.
Prior to me getting on the boat the anglers (well off world travelers who are typically spending 10-20k per week for a party of 3) are told that they don't have to have me aboard, but that it might be fun to have me along, and that I will be taking pics for magazines. They sign releases indicating I can use pics they appear in, and also, that they understand that they are not entitled to any of my images, as the images are the only way i have for paying for my airfare and other costs like equip.
Often, what happens is that after they see my images, the clients say, gee, they really would like some, and they don't mind paying for them either, so they tell me to come up with a fair price and they will pay it.