Printing

Coldow91

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
What does it take to print 120 film (from a Holga)?
I understand and can get some help developing it but I don't understand printing it all. What materials are needed and how much will this cost? Used equipment is fine I ma just looking for an estimate. But if somebody could link me to some sites because my searches have been unsuccessful, or if you really want to take the time to walk me through the basics it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for the help and sorry but I have no knowledge in this area and want to get into it.

Google it...you'll find plenty of step-by-step instruction.

In terms of materials, you'll need:
1) An enlarger. Look hard enough and you'll find one for free. Try local photographers, labs, and craigslist.
2) An easel. Cheap.
3) Filters for the enlarger, unless you go with a color enlarger, which is a bit different.
4) Paper, paper developing chemicals.
5) An archival print washer if you're going to print on fiber papers. These can range from $50 to several hundred.
6) Preferably a print dryer.

Thanks that was very helpful I googled it but did not find what I was looking for, I guess I will try again. Is it all the same for 120 film vs. 35mm.

Only difference is that you'll need an enlarger than can print 120. This generally requires it to be a little larger than a 35mm-only enlarger, and of course be able to carry a 120 sized negative holder (645, 6x6, 6x7, 6x8, or 6x9).

Ok thanks a lot.

Hi Coldow91 - I'm not certain how you're googling this, that you can't find information. Check out this page, which I found in less than one minute and contains pretty basic step-by-step information. That's just for starters.