Pro minimalist photographer going digital, on a budget, reccomendations?

fotoflo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
HI everyone,
I am a pretty minimalist photographer and i am about to make the switch to DSLR. I am currently using 1970's Olympus OM1 with 24 f2.8, a 35 f2 and a 50 f1.4 lenses. this pretty much covers everything i do. I also have a panasonic dmc-fz20 which i use for macro work and work where the quality isnt as important as quantity and ease of use.

I am planning on switching to a nikon DSLR setup. Im thinking of getting a d40x, a lensbaby 2.0 , a 50 f1.4 and a 28 f2.8. but i realize im going to be losing a lot of width... any suggestions here? are there good wide lenses for these DSLRs? do they cost a fortune? am i giving up a lot of lens choices with the d40x?

I am wondering if i should expect the same kind of lifespan from a dslr body.

Also, with a new DSLR is the ISO 400 good enough to use a zoom lens (most of which are f3.5, at least) and get the same results i would get with an SLR and 200 speed film and a 50 f1.8? i see so many people lugging around these huge zooms, i figure they must provide terrible photos in modest light... right?

Ok thanks
-fotoflo

With all due respect, there are multiple discussions of D40, lense ranges and all the other information you asked many places here, on sites committed to reviewing equipment and through searches on the web.

You won't be getting the breadth of info you want and need from casual anwers here. This info is book length and you should only be satisfied after you read a trememdous amount of existing information to take this big step.

I know almost nothing about digital slrs but....