Problem ID please

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by Battou, Feb 22, 2009.

  1. Battou

    Battou No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,997
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Slapamonkey, New York
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    This is one of two things, I just want to find out which.

    This image was Taken with a Chinon CS with a nameless flash and here are the results of either my incompetence with a bouncable flash, or my first copal square failure.

    [​IMG]

    Frames both before and after this one on the roll are just fine but this one is only half exposed and it's not the first time I've seen this from this camera.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Peanuts

    Peanuts TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Your flash synch speed for your camera is lower then what you shot it at. That's my guess. That or your shutter is stuck
     
  3. Mitica100

    Mitica100 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    9,746
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Does the Copal Square have horizontal or vertical curtains?
     
  4. Battou

    Battou No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,997
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Slapamonkey, New York
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    No, I am certain I was shooting at synch speed. It synchs at 1/125 and there was no where near enough light even with the flash for faster than that.

    horizontal
     
  5. compur

    compur No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    L.A.
    Was the flash connected via sync cord?

    Has this ever happened with a different flash?
     
  6. Battou

    Battou No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,997
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Slapamonkey, New York
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I got thinking about this after I left today. When I answered I answered for the shutter curtain blades that are horizontal, thus making it a vertical travel shutter.

    Yes is was connected by cord.


    As for if it has ever happened with another flash I can't answer that as to my knowledge it's never been shot with any other flash.
     
  7. compur

    compur No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    L.A.
    The Chinon CS has 2 flash terminals. I would make sure the cord is connected
    to the "X" terminal rather than the other flashbulb terminal.

    If it was connected properly, I would also try another flash & cord.
     
  8. Battou

    Battou No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,997
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Slapamonkey, New York
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Well, this flash unit is a cheap no name unit that I scavenged from an old forgery of a camera, it was not ment for the Chinon. I might have misread your post (I might not have as well) There is only the one way to connect it and that is via cord to the hotshoe.

    So this is just an issue with the flash then. From my limited experience with flashes, it seems to me that synch speed errors resulted in half the frame being underexposed, but still exposed. This having been completely unexposed had me worried a bit. I'll just have to learn when it will fire properly as it does for the most part. Given where I accuired and what I payed for the flash unit I am not going to worry about it too much, I just want to find out which one it was, had it been my shutter I dunno what I'da done.

    Ok well maybe I do, I just don't want to part with it for a CLA just yet. :lol:
     
  9. compur

    compur No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    L.A.
    Does your camera look like this one?

    [​IMG]

    with 2 sync sockets?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Jeff Canes

    Jeff Canes No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Hollywood, FLA USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    could the shutter or mirror be sticking?

    I had and have A1-P with a similar problem and repair guy said that was the reason
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2009
  11. epatsellis

    epatsellis TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    17
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    try shooting at 1/60, bet the problem goes away....
     
  12. Battou

    Battou No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,997
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Slapamonkey, New York
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit

    It's not that I do not have the sockets, I do, but the flash is a cheapo that does not connect to them.

    Here is the camera with the flash in question

    Chinon CS w/flashgrip by Battou - Photo Lucidity
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

before and after problem id