problem with my continuous light

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by RawRyder, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. RawRyder

    RawRyder TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    hallo i have a question i bought this studio kit http://www.skaeser.com/servlet/Detail?no=524
    form steve kaeser its a contiuous light
    most of the ppl told me its better than the strobes so i take it
    when i operate it or install it , i turned it on then the light stopped working
    do you think the problem with the power or with bulb ??

    i want to know the procedure to do before use the light ??
    cus to flashes now it's not working , i have now 2 more , but i dont want to use until i am sure how to operate it
     
  2. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,822
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I would say that strobes are better than continuous lights.
     
  3. RawRyder

    RawRyder TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    but i paid about 1000 dollar + shipping
    the shipping cist me alot cuz am in kuwait not in the usa , so it cost me about 500 dollar shipping its hard to return it or change it , maybe in the future i will buy the strobes , now i need a help to fix my problem
    thanx
     
  4. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,822
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    We have no way of knowing what the problem might be. Examine your lights to see if there is anything damaged. If you can't figure it out...contact the place where you bought them.

    What is the power like over there? These lights were probaly made to be used with a standard North American power supply.
     
  5. chris

    chris TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Scotland
    1 - Stop listening to people that tell you that continuous lights are better than strobes.

    2 - The equipment you have is almost certainly for USA power supply which I believe is 110 volts - the power supply in Kuwait is 240 volts. This means that every time you switch on with a 110 V bulb in the light you will blow the bulb. You need to find some 240 V bulbs that will fit. However you would be well advised to have the whole kit checked out by a qualified electrician to ensure that it is safe to use at 240 V. The safest way of using the equipment would be to use a transformer to drop your supply from 240 V to 110 V.
     
  6. RawRyder

    RawRyder TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    now i burned 3 light s :s
    ummm i need to ask my dad first about that , cuz i will not understand about the volts
    thanks
    i will replay back soon
     
  7. chris

    chris TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Scotland
    Since you obviously don't understand what is going on I would strongly advise you to stop playing around with the lighting system. You don't want to be the first forum member to pick up a Darwin Award.
     
  8. ghpham

    ghpham TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The people that took your order should have known that the voltage would be different. Come to think of it, the plug configuration should be different as well. How did you manage to plug in the lights??
     

Share This Page