Processing RAW Images

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by stalley, Jun 3, 2010.

1. stalley

stalley TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm new to photography and would love some feedback about a few questions I have.

1. I'm shooting with a Canon 50D and processing my images with Photoshop CS3. Currently I open my RAW images in Photoshop and make the necessary changes but when I click "save images" I'm getting a tiny jpg that's less than 1MB. What am I doing wrong?

I know there's a huge debate over whether it's better to shoot jpgs or RAW data so I'm wondering what are the best post processing steps to get crisp colorful images.

2. When shooting lanscapes how do you decide what to set the aperture, ISO, and shutter speed on? Are their certain formulas that help deciding what the shutter speed should be for a large aperture?

Obviously I'm terribly new at this and trying to learn all I can! Thanks for your help!

2. D-B-J

D-B-J Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    1: I have no idea why that is happening?

Shoot in RAW!! I never did, seeing as how the files are massive, and it takes extra time. However, they are much simpler to correct, and often come out better than a jpeg (for me atleast!).

2. All depends. Normally i shoot at f9-11, and adjust everything else accordingly.

3. stalley

stalley TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I know this is dumb but what do you mean by "adjust everything else accordingly"...

4. D-B-J

Photos OK to edit
    like, ill usually set my iso at 100 (in bright situations), then set my aperture for narrow dof of greater dof (wide aperture or like 9-11, respectively), then adjust my shutter speed to center my light meter.

5. pbelarge

pbelarge TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit