product in field shots

Discussion in 'Commercial/Product photography' started by lotusflower007, Nov 23, 2009.

1. lotusflower007

lotusflower007 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Well, You guys are some very talented photographers. Love the work I've seen.

I am a graphic designer, and I am trying to produce some usable photos for my company. I will be using these images in layouts, and as of now we really don't have any good field photography... I was pretty happy myself with these shots. I thought that for spending a half a day, with a Nikon D50 that can't seem to focus worth a dam, and a tripod, and photoshop they came out good. My boss said that they quote "sucked"
    ..nice... my response was "buy me decent equipment, and I will take a better picture"

So I would love to hear feedback... how to improve what I can do with the equipment I have. or what equipment do must I have?
    Are they really that bad, that its a "dont quite your day job" or is it a "your on the right track, just do ...."?
    thank you

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Turbo

Turbo TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    You want to show the products in their work environment...but you should still make sure the eye is drawn directly to the product. Try to fill more of the frame with the products rather than the stuff in the background. You're not trying to sell antique tools, so maybe try a more modern look....I don't like the sepia.

For the first shot, I don't like the cluttered engine bay. I'd use a different car, maybe get hold of an enthusiast. I would want a good looking high performance motor in a clean, distraction free engine bay. Do you want the photo to say "Good enough to lube up your mother's Subaru!" or "Good enough for 1000 horsepower worth of american iron!" I think a high performance motor will imply that the product performs well.

Just my two cents.

3. lotusflower007

lotusflower007 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    thanks for your feedback!!