Product in focus

iamericlarson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I cannot get my product in sharp focus for the life of me...

Camera:
Canon Rebel EOS Xsi
Lens: 55-250mm 1.1m/3.6ft 1.4-5.6 IS & 18-55mm 0.25m/0.8ft
Lights: 2 30W Daylight 2000 Lumens
Tent: 55inch

Here's my set up:
$photo 1.JPG$photo 2.JPG

Unfocus:
$no-focus1.jpg

How can I get a better sharper focus? I'm new to product photography. My area is in graphic design, any help would be much appreciated!

Assuming you used center point focus there really isn't a lot of contrast there for the auto focus to work with...

no-focus1_zps4b6d81d9.jpg

Pick a better spot/area or try manual focus.

Considering the downsizing for web the sharpness is not bad...

Cheers, Don

An old trick I used to use with a view camera on still-life and small product shots was to place a high-contrast "focus target" right in the scene, or right ON the product...

Take a PostIt Note and draw some letters on it. ABCDEFGHIJK is good. Stick that PostIt Note right where the active AF focus bracket is...or place two or three of them on the scene, and focus either by autofocus (AF) OR by hand, with the depth of field preview button held in (if your camera HAS a DOF preview button, and I think most Rebels do not...) and sort of 'eyeball' the focus.

With the camera firmly mounted on a tripod for product photography, using the smallish lens apertures needed for depth of field on many products, f/stops like f/8, f/9.5, f/11, or f/13, you should have plenty of depth of field for a flat-ish subject like the one shown, as long as the original focus point is pretty close to the mark.

At close distances, even small focus placement errors can "blow the shot", so if there's an issue, take different shots, moving the focusing ring very slightly. If your camera offers Live View focusing, that can be of some help.