Product photographer needs help

Newbie88

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey there guys.
I'm a small business owner, and I'm having real trouble presenting my products online, due to a poor quality images. I hired a professional photographer twice so far, but since I'm outputting new lines of products weekly, the expenses for a photo session add up to ridiculous amounts. This is where I've realized it's better for me to buy a decent camera and shoot the products myself.
Now, since I really don't know anything about photography, this is where I need Your help - in choosing the best price/quality option.
My budget is around 300$ for a used equipment (body + lens). Is it even possible to get a decent camera + lens for that price? If so, which brand should I choose?
I've been exploring for a bit, and it seems like Nikon's d3100, 3200, go for around that price used. Are they the direction I should be looking at? And if I buy only the body, which LENS should I go for? (note that my products are baby shoes and clothing, so I'd be shooting them anywhere from few centimeters distance to a meter or so)
I have already purchased lights and made a box for the shooting.

I'd appreciate any answers to my question. And excuse me if my description is vague, it's due to lack of knowledge in this field.

You will likely need a macro lens if you are shooting that close. But I don't see why you would be shooting baby items with centimeters of distance. The Nikon should serve you well. I can't recommend a specific lens but I would want a versatile zoom range. I personally shoot Canon and use a Tamron 28-75mm 2.8 for almost everything. You will also want a tripod... At least I would.

My advice would be to invest in education and training. The camera just takes the picture, your are managing the light(s) to show the best of your products to the lens. So learn how to light your products and you'll be good.