Product photography lighting.

Discussion in 'Commercial/Product photography' started by anldyxp_gd3, Aug 28, 2009.

1. anldyxp_gd3

anldyxp_gd3 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi guys, I had a question about lighting. To the mods, sorry if this is not the correct section to post this, im still a noob here. So I'm just getting into product photography and experimenting with lighting. I wanted to know what are the advantages of continuous lighting over strobes, and vise versa. My friend tells me not to get continous lighting because it sucks and to stick with strobes, but why does it suck? I would think continuous lighting would be easier to work with since you can immediately see how the light will look on the subject. Instead of firing test shots from strobes and adjusting the power output accordingly. Can someone shed some light on this for me? Thanks for your time!:mrgreen:

*(i'm currently shooting product with tungsten lamps in the studio at school, but I do use SB-600s outside of school.)

2. Derrel

Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

Photos OK to edit
    Continuous lighting is affordable at the entry level; there are some VERY costly high-end continuous systems. Continuous lighting is often called HOT lighting, and for a good reason; it's hot,and can cause fires, burns,and sweaty models, as well as melting/wilting of delicate subjects like flowers, ice cream,frosting,icings, puddings, various desserts,etc.

Continuous lighting in its cheapest form has very little control over output,and the absolute power of hot lighting is rather low compared with even a medium-sized power pack or monolight. Most better power pack and head systems and virtually all monolight systems allow incremental power adjustment with a reasonable (i.e. acceptable) amount of color temperature variation.