Professional Photography

photoman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I was wondering how everyone became a "professional photographer."

What would you recomend in doing to become one? What type of classes would you take? Would you recomend in working under someone to gain experience first?

Im looking into becoming a portrait photographer (maybe do something in senior pictures not too sure :? ),

Any suggestions would be helpful

Thanks in advance :D

i wouldnt go so far to say im a "professional photographer" .. im a student in training :D ... but i do photograph on occasion for a fee ($120 per hour) but i'd prefer to look at it as a hobby that i sometimes get paid for :eek:

to work under a "professional" is a good idea. i know my first couple of jobs i took my hubby with me, not to mention i was a nervous wreck :lol: ... i would even do a few shoots for free to build up your portfolio

everytime a client leaves my studio .. i say to my hubby, "do u know that actor is counting on my photographs to make him/her a star?" :lol:

its powerful, but its a lot of responsibility and sometimes pressure cause your photos can shape the way a person perceives the subject ... now that i've scared ya ... be confident, but always continue to learn :D

I have some great answers for you from my own experience which I've codified into a guide. I don't want to get accused of "spamming" even though my answer is in response to your query, so email me and I'll fill you in.

-Tom.

If you can mentor with someone (perferably PPAC in the area you want lern) you will fined the experiance valuable.