Professional Sports Photographer

IDLaxStar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was wondering if there are any people on here who are professional sports photographers that could shed some light on the profession for me. I was wondering basically how you got to where you are. Did you go to college and what kind of degree did you get. Also how did you get your job. Did you just apply for it and get it or did you work your way up from somewhere. Also what are my chances of becoming a professional sports photographer. I love sports and I love photography, so i think it would be awesome to satisfy both of those things at once, but i just don't know if i have any chance of becoming one. Thanks for the help.

Its not an easy field to get into, due to the large amount of photographers out there.

Right now I am a college student and am working for an ESPN affiliate to cover NCAA sports, so I am in no way a professional sports photographer yet, but I do believe getting involved and "connections" play a vital role in a field like this.

How did you become an ESPN affliate?

I am not a professional sports photographer but I do shoot sports for a couple colleges in town. I'm entering my 3rd year doing this.

While you're out trying to figure out how to break into sports photography, go out on weekends and shoot as much sports as you can. Build your portfolio. The first thing an employer is going to ask for is your portfolio.

Get out and shoot anything that moves!

I will make sure I do that. The only thing that sucks is that I'm always the one playing in the games haha. But there is a lacrosse tourney this weekend that I will try to get some shots when I'm not playing. Then i will post them up in a new topic for some c&c. Thanks for the advice though.

Last edited:
The old adage, 'it's not what you know, but who you know' springs to mind.