Purchasing a new lens

rub

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am looking at purchasing a new lens. I currently only have the kit lens for my D80, a 18-135mm f3.5 - 5.6. I can see my images improving, and the more pictures I take, the more I hear that people would like me to photograph them.

I am not a pro, obviously. But I love photography, and I know that other people like my images. They may not be everyone taste, but I'm fine with that.

I have recently been approached (4 times, 4 different families) about doing family portraits. It seems there is a lack of professional photographers in my small town. Now, of course I would like to take on the work, but I have told all of these families that I am learing, and that I may take longer than a pro with my set up, but I will be able to get them some nice shots. (I know they like my "style" as they all came to me after seeing my candid work.) Of course I am nervous, but I have arranged a price that works for both, I have got a model release form, and I am slowly adding equipment so I can have more control over what I produce.

So, I plan on purchasing a new lens this week. I am looking at the Nikon Nikkor 50mm f1.8 ($150) or the 50mm f1.4 ($350)

Is it worth the money for the larger apeture? Should I be considering the Sigma 50mm f1.4?

Keeping in mind what I m shooting, what do you think is the right lens for me?

Thanks so much.
Kristal

thanks, that is very interesting. I wonder now if those compasisons relate to the Nikon as well....hmmm....