Putting ISO400 in my Camera...

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by Turtle4288, Jul 3, 2007.

  1. Turtle4288

    Turtle4288 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone, you're talking to a film camera noob.

    My mum just gave me her Canon Sure Shot AF7 to take to Mongolia, and i'd like to know what film I am supposed to put in it?

    Its got ISO200 in it at the moment - I think - and I bought some ISO400 from TESCO not knowing what I was doing and I wonder if I need to go and swap it for ISO200. Will 400 be ok?

    I cant change any speed settings on the camera or anything. Just flash on or off.

    Thanks for your insight.

    Mike

    www.turtleracing.co.uk
     
  2. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    400 speed is a good all around film. It will get you through most situations and give you nice pictures.
     
  3. Turtle4288

    Turtle4288 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fantastic. So im not going to end up with over exposed grainy photos? Or is this digital experiance of using 400 ISO not the same on film?

    Im probably going to be taking quite a few campfire memories with it anyway :D
     
  4. deanimator

    deanimator TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Germany
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Print film, right?
    (not slides!)

    You will be fine in most situations...even bright sunlight.
    Night-time around a campfire will be tricky, but try a few shots anyway.
     
  5. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit

    It's a fully automatic camera. You aren't going to end up with anything overexposed, and no the photos should not be excessively grainy like cheap digital.
     
  6. Don Simon

    Don Simon TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello. No you won't (or at least shouldn't) end up with overexposed grainy photos. Overexposure is not the result of either the film or a digital sensor but of the exposure itself; the user or the computer in the camera overexposes, not the film. The metering systems in fully-auto cameras can't always get it right, but sometimes there are ways around this. Grain meanwhile should not be a problem either - most ISO 400 films (when used as ISO 400 film) are relatively low grain. ISO 400 on digital point-&-shoots is indeed often fairly horrible; however this is not always the case with 'digital' and is not the case with most digital SLRs. Also I personally think film grain is less unpleasant than digital noise but that's just me.

    So basically the film will be fine. The potential problems I can see would come not from the film but from the camera; being a fully-auto point-and-shoot with no exposure compensation it won't let you manually control exposure, so if the meter gets it wrong there is not a lot you can do about it. But as has already been said - should be fine for most situations. As always, I'd advise shooting a test roll, to give you an idea of how both the camera and the film behave, before you go on your holiday.
     
  7. Turtle4288

    Turtle4288 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Thank you for your advice, very useful and I think its most definitely answered my question!! Cheers!

    Mike
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to put film in af7 canon