Quasi-abstract portrait

Discussion in 'General Gallery' started by Sharkbait, May 17, 2004.

1. Sharkbait

Sharkbait TPF Noob!

This was actually taken last summer on vacation. One of my summer vacation goals is to learn a LOT more about photoshop, so I'm getting a bit of a head start. I started playing with layers tonight for the first time ever. :-D

[​IMG]

2. canonrebel

canonrebel TPF Noob!

Hey shark, what a coincidence. You're aim is to spend more time investigating PhotoShop. Since your advice for me in a previous thread, my aim is to pay more attention to my photography and spend less time with the "funky photoshop stuff".

I adore your quasi-abstract portrait. The eye is righteous.

Can you explain your technique for processing the iris? Did you use the Hard Light Mode and Overlay Mode in conjucntion with 50% gray fill?

3. aggiezach

aggiezach Yup...

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Shark that is an amazing photo! I love the composition and the eye, OH THE EYE! its great yo!

As rebel asked, please share the details!

Thanks for sharing

4. Sharkbait

Sharkbait TPF Noob!

I guess my overall theory when it comes to photoshop is to use it to enhance a photo. To bring things out, not alter. (I hope I didn't come across too harsh in that other thread, rebel. I certainly didn't mean to (especially when we shoot the same camera!)!)

Anyhoo, here was my process for this one...

1. Convert entire frame to b&w, then adjust contrast/brightness
    2. New layer, soften using gausian blur, erase eye and nostrils with very soft-edged brush
    3. New layer from original background, USM quite a bit, erase everything but iris of eye