Question about a fishy deal... new D4 for 500 USD?

cash365

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I am very happy to have found this great forum!

I have been online for many years now, but I never ever thought of looking for a forum on photography, although I have been selling photos for more than 30 years now.

Today I joined here, because I want to hear what you think of the following deal, which seems to be too good to be true. Maybe someone can enlighten me of what is going on here:

I am living in Colombia, South America and now and then I look for cheap camera deals on Amazon and Ebay.

Yesterday I searched for a Nikon D4 and found this really unbelievable deal on Amazon (well, there are 3 similar deals, one for a D700 and two for a D4, from different vendors: they offer them for 500 USD AS NEW and state in the offer you must email them for details.)

Here is what they responded to my inquiry:

"I will explain in this email all terms and condition
The Nikon D4 16.2 MP CMOS FX Digital SLR with Full 1080p HD Video (Body Only) (OLD MODEL) is BRAND NEW, never used, ( US model, not grey market or refurbished), but Amazon does not let us list it as new. The product is Sealed in its original box and comes with full Warranty, receipt, all manufacturer supplied accessories...
The total price is $500.00 including all shipping taxes if you are in US and for international shipping you have to pay extra 29,99 $ (outside US) .
If you want to buy, send me your phone number, full name, shipping address and I will contact Amazon asap to process your order. Dispatch is by normal UPS Services, which takes 1-3 days depending on where in the US you are.
My return policy is full money back in 30 days."

Both vendors I wrote to responded with the exact same wording...

Once I sent them my details, they responded: