Question about Aperture (Aperture Priority Mode)

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Wizzard005, Aug 24, 2008.

1. Wizzard005

Wizzard005 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Aloha all,

I am still learning here. I hope this doesnt come accross as a dumb question.

Anways, When shooting in Aperture Priority Mode, how do i know how much Aperture?

I assume

Bright Sunny Hawaii Day ISO 200 Should be ok?

I took like 5 pictures with different Aperture F stops and they just about look the same to me. I think the higher the number the more other things come into focus?

Anyone know of a good video that explains these settings? I want to take more pictures off of auto mode and get using the custom modes....

Anyways, thank you all for your time...!

2. Steph

Steph No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    In aperture priority mode, you choose the aperture and the camera will determine the shutter speed for correct exposure. If you change the aperture to take a picture of the same scene, the camera will change the shutter speed accordingly to keep the same exposure. So in terms of 'brightness' you won't see any difference. The only difference you are likely to see is in depth of field (the area that appears in focus in your picture). The smaller the aperture (the higher the F number) the larger the depth of field. Also if you shoot hand-held be careful when choosing your aperture. Depending on lighting coniditions, if you choose too small an aperture, the camera will choose a long shutter speed during which you won't be able to keep the camera steady and will therefore obtain a blurry picture.

3. Overread

Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit