Question about lenses (d40x/d40)

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Antithesis, Sep 23, 2007.

1. Antithesis

Antithesis No longer a newbie, moving up!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I've been looking into getting a faster prime lens for my d40x and I was curious if you can only use DX lenses? The lens I want to get is here:

http://www.nikonusa.com/template.php?cat=1&grp=5&productNr=1902

Do they make something similar for the d40x, or will this fit? I just want to get something this fast, I don't mind it being prime (as I can't drop a grand on a zoom lens that isn't even this fast), or does someone have a suggestion for something similar?

Pardon my newbness, I'm still learning.

2. Helen B

Helen B TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    You don't have to use DX lenses, but if you want autofocus you need the AF-S lenses with the servo inside them, not the plain AF lenses. Sigma do make a 30 mm f/1.4 HSM that should work with the D40 and D40x, but I have had problems getting that lens to focus with some examples of the D40x. Sigma say that they will calibrate the camera/lens combination if we send it in to them.

Best,
    Helen

3. Antithesis

Photos OK to edit
    I was thinking somewhere around 50mm, as 30mm might be too wide for an all-around lens. So I'd have to send my camera body into sigma?

4. D40

D40 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I wouldn't think so but I really don't know. I am saving for the
    Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 HSM because it is cheaper than the Nikon AF-S 20-200mm f/2.8. I read great things about them as well. Good luck:)

5. Helen B

Helen B TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Not necessarily. You may be lucky. If at all possible try the lens with your camera before buying it.

A lot of people, including me, consider a 35 mm, 40 mm or 50 mm to be a good single lens for full frame 35 mm, and the 30 mm on a D40 comes close to a 50 mm on full frame.

Best,
    Helen

6. Keith Gebhardt