Question for those who've been in the business for a long time

heavenlymom

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.countlessmemoriesphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new to having my own portrait studio and so I am learning along with way with every new day and every new shoot.
When business is slow and you don't have customers in what do you do?
What approach do you take to bring in more customers that doesn't include paying for advertising.
I would be grateful for any tips as the holidays are coming up and I feel this will either break my studio or help it gain a little more of nudge on the chain.
I haven't had a session in a week!! I have some later in the month, but it's been so slow this past week.
Please keep in mind that I am going on little advertising due to money issues, no store front (but I do have a small sign out front now yah!) and I am slowly but surely gaining repeat customers and referals.
Thanks so much!

I haven't been doing this for a ton of time, but I suspect the thread on generating new business is a good read for you.

I can tell you that things have been slower for me, personally, over the past couple months. I think I'm in a very different segment than you are (commercial real estate photography), but I think the current US and worldwide economy woes are shaking everyone up a bit.

Plus seasonal elements do come into play... summers tend to be slower in a LOT of businesses, for example.

I only do this part time, so take my advice for what it's worth. ;)

There are any number of ways to drum up business...you may need to get creative. You may need to put in some leg work and be proactive. Advertising isn't usually cheap, and if you don't have money to put toward it, you will have to pay with your own time and effort.