Question on Lenses for Architecture and Close Up Photos

scottydoesntknow

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a student majoring in Architecture and as such, my needs for quality photos and a good camera have increased dramatically. I no longer own a simple point and shoot and have gotten into more advanced cameras (I own a Canon 20D and have two lenses, a fixed 50 and a 75-300mm USM, both Canon lenses). I am fairly happy with these two lenses, however most of my images that I need to take photos of are generally to close for even my 50mm lens to take good photos of, even people.

I need a lens perfect for closer range such as indoor and outdoor photos of buildings close up, with minimal distortion, fish-eye effects and what not, as a lot of photos are used in tracing and various artistic techniques we utilize. I am also taking photos of models so anything that can combine for a good macro lens would be appreciative as well, I know a friend of mine was using a 28-135mm lens with a macro function on it, and claimed it took pretty good photos, I believe it was about a $500 lens.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a good lens? Any questions about what else I would need it for or any clarification, let me know, I got the 75-300 first, realized it was a huge mistake but still useful, got the 50 since it was cheap (roughly $60 off Amazon) and found it to be far better but still far from perfect.

I would say prolly the Canon EF 35mm f/2 Should suit your needs fairly well. I've never shot it but my Canon FD 35mm 3.5 is a very nice lens and I have to assume they have only improved since then.

If money is not a factor I would look into Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM or the Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM but if Money is an issue the 35mm f/2 should suffice

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.