Question re. filters

anslea

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi Folks,
I'm a beginner and would like to know if there are different UV filters that should be used on super zoom lenses -- that is, different than a filter you would buy for use on a DSLR fixed lens? I've read the thread on whether to use a filter at all, but will probably err on the side of protecting from scratches by using one and want to know what folks would recommend for my Tamron 18-250 mm lens.
THANKS in advance!

Hi Folks,
I'm a beginner and would like to know if there are different UV filters that should be used on super zoom lenses -- that is, different than a filter you would buy for use on a DSLR fixed lens? I've read the thread on whether to use a filter at all, but will probably err on the side of protecting from scratches by using one and want to know what folks would recommend for my Tamron 18-250 mm lens.
THANKS in advance!

The UV protection accomplishes nothing with digital sensors. If you're concerned about protecting your lens, buy a high quality multi-coated clear glass protector filter. I emphasize high quality because, in addition to whatever good things that a filter will do, it always has the potential to cause harm. You're adding two flat glass surfaces, which is not a good thing.

Same filters, zoom vs fixed (prime) makes no difference. If you're only getting it for this purpose get the cheapest one you can find and buy a few while you're at it to throw in the case in the event one should be overwhelmed with flying stones - then you'll have a spare or two.

If you're only getting it for this purpose get the cheapest one you can find
I wouldn't recommend this at all.

The quality of your images is dependent on the glass that the light travels though, before getting to your camera. If you put crappy glass in front of your lens, chances are that it will negatively affect the light, and thus affect your images.

A lot of people do use UV filters as protection filters.