Question regarding Canon lenses

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Rockford, Jan 14, 2010.

1. Rockford

Rockford TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    As a novice, I did a littel research and found what I thought would be a great section of lens from Canon, 100mm f/2.8 marco EF16-35mm f/2.8L II <>USM,EF24-70f/2.8L USM,<> EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
    These selection of leneses are north of Five grand new.

Is there other selections of Canon lenese, or other brands that will get you close on a beer budget.

Example the tamron wide angle 10 -22 3.5 is suppose to be a great bang for the buck.

Last question, what is the difference between L & L is in the Canon line.

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    There are a great many lenses in the Canon line up, as well as many more that are made by other manufacturers. Thus, there are many options. Also, it will depend on which camera you have because the cameras with smaller sensors can also use lenses with smaller image circles (EF-S lenses) where as the 'full frame' cameras can only use lenses designed for that.

L is Canon's designation for it's top of the line lenses. Some say it stands for Luxury.
    IS stands for Image Stabilization (the feature that stabilizes the lens to avoid blur from camera shake). Some lenses have it, some don't....both L and regular lenses.
    USM stands for Ultra Sonic Motor, it is the type of auto focus motor.

As an example of a similar, but cheaper option for your proposed lenses.
    Canon EF 17-40mm F4L
    Sigma 24-70mm F2.8
    Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 (or Canon 70-200mm F2.8 L (no IS) or F4 L IS or F4 L (no IS)

3. Rockford

Rockford TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Thanks MIke,