Question regarding filters.

nickb98c

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Since Im new to filters, and a UV filter is the only filter I have had experience with, I have some questions regard other types. I found this kit on ebay(below)

58MM 3PC FILTER+ WideAngle+TELEPHOTO LENS FOR CANON XSi - eBay (item 170442098475 end time Feb-05-10 18:38:40 PST)
and I had several questions.
A.Is it total junk? I want a beginner's set up, because Im not wanting to spend a whole lot of money just yet. I would like to have some filters and attachments with out forking out 100 plus. It seems like a decent deal, and will give me enough to get the basics down on how to use the gear, and then later maybe upgrade to higher quality.

B.If I were to use and of the filters with the wide angle or the zoom attachments, can I place the filter on the lens, and then the zoom or wide angle on the filter. Because both of the attachments would require 62mm filters if I were to place the filters on the end. Can they be sandwhiched between without any negeative or lowered effects?

C. Are the Zoom and the wide angle attachments a joke? Will they really have an effect? Obviously they arent telephotos or fisheyes on their own, but will they at least work decently? Im not ready to buy a new lens, and I thought if these work well, then Ide give them a try.

I know you get what you pay for, and I have researched a little and this kit would retail for about 74.99 in a store(atleast thats what I have found). So would it be worth it?

Thanks for any help!

Nick

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I have Canon's XS slr.

Also, if it is junk, what other options should I look at? Any experience with decent but cheep accessories. Im aware that photography can be an expensive hobby, but I would like to stick to a budget for now.

I would like a polarizing filter right now. Any recommendations?