Question reguarding Horizons and such

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by STICKMAN, Jun 2, 2008.

1. STICKMAN

STICKMAN TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hello All,
    I am a newbie here, so please take my question for what it is worth. I have been all over the boards since I joined here. The question I have is I see so many times people comment that the horizon etc is slightly off. Most responces say photoshop it or such.
    I just don't understand why every photo must be 100% perfect. I guess I can completely see the issues if it is a portrait or such but as for nature, landscapes and such, I think sometimes it helps the shot. I just see it so much here, that it seems this is a complete no-no. Can someone explain to me please the reasoning behind such thoughts?

Once again as stated above I am a newbie and looking to learn so please help me out if you can.... Thanks In Advance

2. elemental

elemental TPF Noob!

You mean slightly rotated, right?

For me, it really depends on the type of photography in question and the viewer and photographer's aesthetic sensibilities. I think I'm somewhat the opposite- I couldn't care less about rotation of the horizon in most portraits, but it drives me crazy in landscape or similar styles. I think what it boils down to (for me) is that when the horizon is an integral part of the subject (sunsets, mountaintop shots, many landscapes), it should (usually) be straight. If the subject is something else entirely (a baby, a bug, a flower to name a few that we all see on a regular basis), the geometry of the horizon is significantly less important to me.

There are always exceptions, but I think in general this is how I personally look at it. I am also very geometry-focused in photography, so my opinion is probably more extreme than most.

3. Senor Hound

Senor Hound TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Its an aesthetics thing...