Question: What lens to buy next ?

Maher

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey again, sorry if I'm writing this thread in the wrong forum but I thought here would be the best forum to write my question.
Anyways I'm a beginner photographer I have Canon D700 that has a standard 18-55 I didn't like it that much it has a bad quality picture so I have searched in the web for a lens and every one suggested the 50mm I loved that lens! it's very good for portrait and satisfy my needs as a beginner and has also a very cheap price ! after 3 months I went to another country for tourism and found out in the hard way that this lens isn't that good for street photography nor for anything that requires a wide angel view including basic landscape ...etc.
so now I'm thinking of getting a new lens and I need a professional opinion.. basically what I shot the most is people and the 50mm does the job well also I travel often and I love street photography and I love tanking some landscape during my trips and out door photography in streets or touring places.
what do you think should I get ?
Is the 50mm good for indoor photography?
I might not have a specific field to work on But I wrote the most things I do take pictures of :)
I hope the price won't be that expensive as I can afford 400$ Maximum :)

Thanks !

If you like your 50mm but you want to zoom from 50mm to 17mm, then get the 17-50mm f2.8 OS (Sigma) lens.

If you want to move to full frame and know you'll have the budget to do so in a short period of time, then consider a 24-70 f2.8 such as the Tamron 24-70 f2.8 with optical stabilization.

If you just want a fixed lens, take a look at primes in the 28mm to 35mm focal range. That's just wide enough for city shots, but long enough to still provide some noticeable and fun bokeh.