Quick Adobe Photoshop Layers Question

RONDAL

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
so i've been using CS3 for a few years now and just switched the CS5....i dont think the version matters for this though.

I have a photo in PS, i select an area (using quick select) and ctrl+j to get it into its own new layer.
I'll then hide the background layer clicking the eye off, and manipulate the new layer.
Say i do a photo filter, some curves and a gradient to it. I then merge all visible and have my what was selected layer all done and ready to go.

I then make my background reappear and all of a suddent he changes i made to the new layer with the filters and gradient, they change the ENTIRE background, not just the selection area I had previously created.

What am i doing wrong here?

Rather than selecting the area and creating a new layer with it, duplicate the whole layer, then make your selection and create a layer mask. The mask will hide the areas that you don't want to edit. You can then flatten the layers.

The benefit of using masks, is that you can easily adjust the mask's edges, opacity etc. For example...if, after you have made the edits, you decide that you should have selected something else, all you have to do is change the mask (you can paint it on or off).

so i've been using CS3 for a few years now and just switched the CS5....i dont think the version matters for this though.

I have a photo in PS, i select an area (using quick select) and ctrl+j to get it into its own new layer.
I'll then hide the background layer clicking the eye off, and manipulate the new layer.
Say i do a photo filter, some curves and a gradient to it. I then merge all visible and have my what was selected layer all done and ready to go.

I then make my background reappear and all of a suddent he changes i made to the new layer with the filters and gradient, they change the ENTIRE background, not just the selection area I had previously created.