Random Pics. Please C&C.

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Ubizzle, Aug 31, 2008.

1. Ubizzle

Ubizzle TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hey guys, been hangin around here for a little bit, as i'm currently looking to learn from other peoples' work as well as trying to improve myself through practice.

I'm a complete amateur with my D40 and am slowly trying to improve my skills. Please tell me how i can improve my photos, because they're all a bit boring and i don't really know how to remedy that.

Feel free to edit :D

1.[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

4.[​IMG]

2. BTilson

BTilson TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I like #1 a lot, but I think a much tighter crop would help the image a lot by bringing the colorful main area of interest into closer view.

#2 has a cool zoom effect, but I think it is lost on the content. Just my opinion, but the effect and the colorful mushroom thing don't seem to complement each other too well.

#3 is a bit confusing to me. What is the subject of the photo? There seems to be some misty "stuff" in there. Is it a long exposure of some sprinklers maybe?

I think #4 would've been better with the fire more centered (not dead center however) and maybe a closer view.

All just my opinions, I am certainly a raw beginner myself!

3. tirediron

tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum. Nothing like asking the hard questions right out of the gate. Technically your images aren't bad, #1 is a little dark especially on the ground, #2 has a large blown patch toward the bottom, and the sky in #3 is blown as well. #4 is set a little too far to the right and under-exposed, but those things are minor, and easily fixed.

Telling someone how to make their pictures more interesting however; that's a tall order. #1 is quite interesting, and #2 tells me that you actually have quite a creative eye. #3 and 4 are rather well... unexciting.