raw format looks like more noise

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by willg133, Apr 11, 2005.

1. willg133

willg133 TPF Noob!

i don't know what it is but the raw doesnt look as nice as a jpeg coming out of my 300d....i adjusted a few things using ps CS but it just looks more grainy...anyone got any insight?

2. willg133

willg133 TPF Noob!

wow i feel stupid...i jacked up the exposure..of course there is going to be noise...anyway...do any of you only shoot in raw mode? is there a big advantage?

3. Meysha

Meysha still being picky Vicky

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I've never used RAW before but from reading this forum, apparently it's a better quality because there's no compression. and in a JPEG, it gets compressed before it's written to the card. Also I think I read somewhere that everytime you reopen and save a JPEG in PS more noise is created or the quality goes down or something. But with a Raw that doesn't happen. Someone will have to clarify this though.

4. Daniel

Daniel TPF Noob!

I shoot exclucivly in RAW mode, as it gives more control over the final image. White balance can be easily adjusted to my liking with a simple mouse click. Every time you save an image as JPEG you lose more image quality as the compression accumulates. There are many more reasons why shooting in RAW is the better option in my opinion.

Here are 2 very good articles that dicuss the RAW format:

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/understanding-series/u-raw-files.shtml

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/essays/rawtruth1.shtml

5. willg133

willg133 TPF Noob!

an output from a 300d in jpeg format is going to print a very nice 8x10 even with multiple low compression jpeg saves though right? just because the image is such high res anyway

6. Daniel

Daniel TPF Noob!