raw format looks like more noise

willg133

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i don't know what it is but the raw doesnt look as nice as a jpeg coming out of my 300d....i adjusted a few things using ps CS but it just looks more grainy...anyone got any insight?

wow i feel stupid...i jacked up the exposure..of course there is going to be noise...anyway...do any of you only shoot in raw mode? is there a big advantage?

I've never used RAW before but from reading this forum, apparently it's a better quality because there's no compression. and in a JPEG, it gets compressed before it's written to the card. Also I think I read somewhere that everytime you reopen and save a JPEG in PS more noise is created or the quality goes down or something. But with a Raw that doesn't happen. Someone will have to clarify this though.

I shoot exclucivly in RAW mode, as it gives more control over the final image. White balance can be easily adjusted to my liking with a simple mouse click. Every time you save an image as JPEG you lose more image quality as the compression accumulates. There are many more reasons why shooting in RAW is the better option in my opinion.

Here are 2 very good articles that dicuss the RAW format:

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/understanding-series/u-raw-files.shtml

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/essays/rawtruth1.shtml

an output from a 300d in jpeg format is going to print a very nice 8x10 even with multiple low compression jpeg saves though right? just because the image is such high res anyway

It will still print ok, depending on how many times you save it and the compression rate you select. But I don't see why you would want to lose any information in the image data when you can avoid it easily?

The basic reason that most people are a bit disappointed with raw the first time they use is is because most digital cameras (300d definitely does this) apply sharpening and contrast to the raw image when they convert it to a jpeg in the camera.