RAW + Jpeg or just RAW?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Dmitri, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. Dmitri
    Offline

    Dmitri New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    End of the line
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I always shoot raw + jpeg because, well, I like what I can do with raw files.

    But it occurred to me.. do I need the jpeg? With just raw it takes less room on the memory cards, and I can still do what I need to in Post Proc.

    So, since I can't think of any, is there any reason I should use Raw + jpeg instead of just raw?
  2. camz
    Offline

    camz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +284 / 0
    I just shoot in just RAW. If you don't even bother with the JPEGs at all I don't see why shoot in both formats and waste disk space. The only advantage it has when shooting in both formats is if you work with both formats. To me it's personally redundant.
  3. ddeerreekk
    Offline

    ddeerreekk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal QC / Kingston ON
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The only time I ever shoot with jpegs if I'm shooting a large batch of photo's that aren't too important (so if some don't turn out it's not a huge deal). Sometimes shooting them all in raw just takes to long to process and edit.

    Basically, if I'm taking quick snapshots or just testing a light set up out or something like that, I'd probably just shoot in jpeg for ease of editing.
  4. Overread
    Offline

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20,643
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    UK - England
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +2,936 / 0
    Sounds like your ready to lose your JPEGs :)
    Certainly if your not using them then by all means change over to full RAW shooting - its how I shoot almost all of the time now. The only times I slip into the JPEGs when the shot are not so critical to me (mostly just happy snaps) and when I don't want to really spend time editing them - the rest is all done in RAW
  5. Dmitri
    Offline

    Dmitri New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    End of the line
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    ok that's pretty much what I was thinking. I can't remember the last time I bothered with the jpegs... pics go into the canon program, which sends them to photoshop as tif anyway so jpeg is never even used.

    Thanks :)
  6. Dmitri
    Offline

    Dmitri New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    End of the line
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    also thanks to derek and overread (both of whom posted while I was replying :) )
  7. photo28
    Offline

    photo28 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Little late here, I use shoot in just RAW. I can't think of any time I would need the jpegs anyway - I could always just have them converted if it was really needed.
  8. JerryPH
    Offline

    JerryPH New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    I shoot straight 14-bit uncompressed RAW. Everything gets converted to JPG in the end anyway, yet I still retain ultimate control over my final results and my PPing, though minimal, will *always* be superior to anything my camera can give me.

    RAW + JPG for me is a waste of card space.
  9. Dmitri
    Offline

    Dmitri New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    End of the line
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Yup, I officially set it to RAW only. I am still not sure why I ever thought jpeg + raw was a good idea.
  10. IgsEMT
    Offline

    IgsEMT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +48 / 0
    Some say if you like your camera's jpg, you can use it as a reference.
  11. FourAcesPhotography
    Offline

    FourAcesPhotography New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When using a camera with film modes (b&w, etc.) on there, a favorite of mine being "Dynamic B&W" on my Panasonic LX3, I shoot those in JPEG. Because it won't process RAW correctly.

    Sensor RAW data is ALWAYS shot in color. It's just that some software will display the CAMERA SETTINGS, ala Olympus. Panasonic WILL NOT do this.

    I'm not sure about other companies, perhaps some can fill in. I would like to know for Canon and Nikon...
  12. AlexNeo
    Offline

    AlexNeo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I shoot in JPEG for events...the quantity of photos for events is huge....the in camera processing save me lot of time for post processing:lol:
  13. Garbz
    Offline

    Garbz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,712
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +202 / 0
    Every RAW editor I have seen has a batch conversion option.

    Nuff said.
  14. msf
    Offline

    msf New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In the South
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I like to shoot raw with jpg. The great thing about the xxD canon series *at least 20d* is it lets you choose different size jpgs. Then when I get home, I use windows picture viewer and go through the jpgs to see what I want to keep and dont, then either erase the raw files that are left, or move them to a backed up raw folder.

    I find it easier going through the pictures this way than going thruogh them in the raw editor. I just wish microsoft would add a couple tools to the picture viewer, like the ability to see 2 pictures side by side *especially on my widescreen laptop*, and a zoomed in section would be great to, so I can compare facial expressions that much easier and quicker. :) Theres probably a program out there that does this though.

    I converted 280 raw files last night, it took 45 minutes for the computer to process them as jpgs.
  15. Big Mike
    Offline

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,507
    Likes Received:
    1,719
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,721 / 0
    RAW files already have an embedded JPEG, that's what you see when you look at the RAW image.

    The one advantage I can see to shooting RAW+JPEG, is if you need the JPEG files very quickly and\or you are working with very little computing power.

    There are plenty of programs that will allow you to go through the RAW image to sort your keepers and trashable images.
  16. Dmitri
    Offline

    Dmitri New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    End of the line
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0

    As Big Mike says, there are plenty of programs that do that for raw.

    You use a Canon, you should already have one that came with the camera called Digital Photo Professional. This is the one I use. Not
    only can you go through and delete what you don't like, but you can edit the raw files and very easily apply the same edits to any selected photos.
  17. msf
    Offline

    msf New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In the South
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I do use Digital Photo Professional, but as I said, I find windows picture viewer easier and quicker to go through the images. I believe with DPP you have to click on each and every image to view it, WPV you can use the arrow keys to see the next image. DPP takes a few seconds to load each picture so I can view the picture, WPV loads the jpg much faster. DPP is harder to navigate the pictures, zoom in and move around, WPV is much easier. :) Especially when your looking at 3 picturs, trying to choose hte best one, going back and forth looking at each aspect, DPP can be annoying for this.
  18. Big Mike
    Offline

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,507
    Likes Received:
    1,719
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,721 / 0
  19. Dmitri
    Offline

    Dmitri New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    End of the line
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    If you use the Tools|Start Quick Check (Alt-Q) you can preview any selected pictures you want (or if you don't select any, all of them) using the same way that windows does it. From there you can mark pictures with a 1, 2 or 3 (for example, when I go through photos I mark the ones i will delete with a 3). Then, when back at the main screen go to Edit|Select Check Mark3 Images Only, and press delete.

    To zoom in and out, just double click the image.

    To each their own, just pointing out that DPP does the same as windows :)
  20. Mr. Murmeli
    Offline

    Mr. Murmeli New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Finland
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I used to shoot in everything: RAW, RAW+Jpeg, Jpeg .... until five seconds later i discovered that with photoshop you can automatically convert huge amount of RAW's to jpegs within minutes.

    Now i shoot only in RAW :)

Share This Page