rebel vs mark

brendyngunn

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have a passion for family portraiture but I am confused on how far my canon rebel xti will take me and when I need to upgrade to a mark. I want to specialize in infant/children portraits both candid and posed.

What do you mean by "upgrade to a mark"?

That is an open question...

How long have you been shooting? In other words what is your experience level?

Maybe some more details about yourself (not personal stuff), this way the answer will be much more specific to your needs.

I would have to say if you can afford it and some good glass... Get it! I can't afford it so I'm getting some good glass first and then will upgrade the body later. After all, the body is nothing without the lenses to match. Right?

I have been shooting for the last 4 years mainly with the auto settings on my camera but have recently been reading books and learning how to use the full manual setting. I would like my images to look more professional. Not sure if it's a matter of skill level or if it's my camera. I feel pretty confident with my knowledge of exposure settings, but I still don't get crystal clear images. Thanks for the help and feedback

maybe a tripod or a Image stabalization lense? my IS 50-250mm works great on getting clean pictures w/o a tripod

'mark' is something Canon uses to specify a 'next generation' of a certain model name. For example, there is the 5D, and the newer version, the 5D mark II (two).
There is also the 1D and following models; 1D mark II, 1D mark III & 1D mark IV.

So when you say "when I need to upgrade to a mark.", you aren't really specifying another model to upgrade to.

I would like my images to look more professional. Not sure if it's a matter of skill level or if it's my camera.